It’s a Summer Vacation (or not)

Summer is here!

Summer is here

Photograph by Kent DuFault

and that means but one thing for me…

I have to work harder than ever!

I’ve tried to include details about myself here at NovelNook.com. I hope I’ve kept that balance of, just enough to seem interesting, but not so much that you feel like I’m telling you my life story.

Today, I’m going to start with a topic about myself, because it’s important as relates to the next couple of months.

I am a Photographer

This is what I do to pay the bills. Every summer for the last five years, I’ve worked a freelance job on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. I create beautiful portraits of families, decked-out in white and khaki, as they pose, and play, among the dunes and waves of the beach.

Summer is here

Photograph by Kent DuFault

When I tell most people what I do, they get this dreamy look in their eyes and tell me how lucky I am, and maybe I am  to some degree. It probably beats roofing a house or sitting in a tiny cubicle inputting data.

But the truth of the matter is it’s not all that romantic. It’s hard work. Most days, I have to work thirteen to fourteen hours. I have to deal with large groups of people in high heat and humidity, chase numerous small children up and down the beach, deal with drunken relatives that don’t really want to be there, keep a happy face and an upbeat spirit (no matter how I feel), and in the end convince them that they can’t live without the portraits so that they’ll part with large sums of money and hang them in their homes.

It’s exhausting and grueling.

But my point is this –

Over the next couple of months you might find my posts a bit more clipped and a little less detailed. I hope you’ll still enjoy them and find them useful. I’ve developed a few faithful followers,and I want you to stick with me here at NovelNook.com!

Here is my WRITING point for today

(I know you’ve been waiting breathlessly!)

My wife and I live in a single story condominium unit on the beach. There are only a handful of full-time residents; most of the units are short term rentals. The units rent out for a week at a time. We see a lot of people come and go.

The other day, I was leaving for work around 7:30 a.m. As my car rounded the corner of the building, I saw this woman (approximately thirty-five years old) crouched down right next to a car. She cradled a cigarette between two fingers and held a smart phone. She was furiously typing away. I was certain she was texting somebody.

What was odd about this moment was her positioning. She appeared to be hiding from someone. Instantly, I came to the realization that this woman was cheating on her husband. Sure, it might be my over active imagination; but I don’t think so.

summer vacation is here

Photograph by knownunsense.

I thought about what I had just witnessed as I drove to work and put it in the context of a story, (which is something I almost always do). I realized something.

If I were writing a story about a cheating wife, would I think to tell how she crouched by a car, while on vacation with her family, hiding, desperate to text her lover, even at the risk of being caught?

No. I don’t think I would have thought of that.

Observations of life around us is our richest gold mine: observe, remember, write it down.

I know that I’ve hammered away here about the concepts that will make your writing unique; there is a reason for that…

A lot of authors just aren’t doing it; the slush pile does not lie!

The cheating wife scene is in my idea book.

What’s in your idea book?

I am very opinionated about the craft of writing, and life in general. But… I am well-tempered with an enthusiasm for debate. Please leave comments, even the ugly ones, I dare you.

You can follow me at

Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn     Pinterest     Amazon

I’m also an avid reader. If you desire success in your writing career, you should be too.

I’m currently reading, “Unexplained Mysteries of World War II”, by William B. Breuer

All my best on a beautiful day in South Carolina.

4 thoughts on “It’s a Summer Vacation (or not)

  1. That is so true, observing people is a goldmine.

    I work a movie theater so I get to see literally thousands of people of all different types walk through on a busy night. Speaking of people cheating, I had to help a moviegoer look for his wife midway through a movie after she apparently found out he was cheating. She left the theatre and hid somewhere. He still denies it.

    Thinking back on it, it was such a bizarre occurrence. But without a doubt, it’s those bizarre and strange happenings that make a great story. :)

Leave a Reply

