Should You Just Self-Publish? Part Two!

Welcome back!

In Part One, I gave some general information about choosing to self-publish or try to get your novel traditionally published. Today, I’m going to give you the pro’s and con’s of MY decision and I hope it will help you as well!

Let’s jump right into it! Please keep in mind that some of there are simply MY beliefs of what they could do for me and you may disagree.

What are the pro’s of traditional publishing?
  • If it is one (or part of one) of the “Big Six,” the brand is recognizable and therefore, someone who reads a lot of their books and trusts them may buy my book on a whim when they perhaps otherwise wouldn’t if it is my very first novel.
  • Someone else will be making my cover, editing the book, formatting it, etc. and this will save me from having to pay out of pocket for these expenses which can actually be pretty expensive if I don’t do it all on my own.
  • They will do marketing of my book to their already loyal fans while I am still pretty new to gaining fans and may sell less if I publish on my own.
  • It would be the culmination of a life-long dream and really, hearing from someone partial that your writing is worth publishing is different than hearing it from your friends and family because that someone is willing to take a chance on you and your novel!
What are the pro’s of self-publishing?
  • I retain 100% control of many things – such as the cover, who edits it, where it sells, how much it sells for, etc.
  • I can publish it immediately, whereas I may have to wait a bit by going traditionally.
  • I would be able to pretty much do whatever I wanted with the book because it is mine and I retain all rights to it.
  • It would still be the culmination of a life-long dream to be a published writer and author.

Keeping all control seems like a great reason to self-publish, doesn’t it?

In all honesty, yes. However, many factors have to go into your decision. Some questions you should ask yourself are:

  • If I self-publish, do I have the money to pay for my own cover or do I have the skills to make one that will entice people to buy it? Let’s face it – a lot of people DO judge a book by its cover!
  • In regards to things that need to be done, do I have either the money or the ability to get the book ready to go on my own? Do I know people who I can trade services with if I cannot afford to pay for those services?
  • Do I desire having someone else do some of the promotion for me? Or do I want to do it all on my own and get my book out there to other people to promote? Can I afford to pay for promotion if it is required? *Some sites are 100% free but others will only list you or your book for a fee*

Personally, my decision comes down to what I desire over anything else. It is all about how I feel and a dream I’ve had for a long time. It has nothing to do with what way will get me more money or make less ‘work’ for me.

I don’t have any aspirations to submit my first novel to just anyone. I truly want to submit to Avon Romance and that is my intention. The only people I will be submitting my story to.

So, why have I chosen to do this first instead of just self-publishing the instant I’m done?

Easy answer – Because it is worth the risk. The worst they can do is reject me, yes? And if it doesn’t work out, I can still self-publish. On Novelnook, I’ve set my book to release on July 31st. When I posted it, it was for an example for an article but I decided that it was a GREAT motivation to finish my story. Now that I am writing this, it provides another incentive.

It will take up to 12 weeks for Avon to get back to me once I submit my novel. In order for me to hear from them with enough time left over to edit the book myself and publish it in case of them saying “No thanks!”, I need to send them my book for potential publication by the end of this month! Eek!

This works perfectly for me. It gives me incentive to finish by the end of this month and if it doesn’t work out, my book will still go live on July 31st. And even if Avon does publish my eBook, I still retain ALL rights to it and can still publish it on Novelnook, which I will absolutely do either way!

So, whatever my decision, I win as does everybody else who may be waiting to read my novel! It gives me time to write the second book in the series and perhaps the third, gain more followers and perhaps more readers, get more feedback on the story on the few I share it with, etc. This gives me the chance to go after my dream while still getting what I want in the end – being a published author!

None of this lessens my belief in the amazing awesomeness that is self-publishing. I firmly believe that self-publishing opens doors to people who are great writers and simply want to share their story with the world, in any way they can.

My final thoughts are this: do whatever will make YOU, the writer, happy & satisfied. Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to do it a certain way. This is your dream, your novel, your story and you can share it in whatever way you please (as long as it doesn’t involve, you know, breaking the law).

In the end, Novelnook will still be waiting for you to publish your book with and you’ll still get 100% royalties.

Who says you can’t always get what you want?! ;)

Have a great day, everyone!

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Should You Just Self-Publish? Part Two!

  1. Pingback: Publishing & Social Media | novelnook

  2. Pingback: What Can WE Do For YOU? | novelnook

Leave a Reply

